May whatever I do, and whatever may befall me and my family be pleasing in the sight of God. But if He meant, or means, for me to be fruitful on this earth, may I combine engagement in what is necessary for earthly fruitfulness with what is truly God’s purpose in the history of the salvation of souls, one at a time and all together, within the scope of my talents, all of them working in harmony if it be God’s will, and within the scope of that portion of the earth that is allotted, so to speak, to me. For what greater honor can a man have than to build a monument to God, using the resources and talents allotted to him and putting them to work for God’s purpose, both earthly and spiritually, as if we could separate the two.

The most brutal truths are equally our friends as the most beautiful, like the weeds in the wheatfield, though man’s enemy, help us to appreciate the life-giving wheat. And it is within our power to appreciate that!

